Tue. Feb 27th, 2024

José González has announced a 20th anniversary deluxe reissue of his 2003 debut Veneer. The expanded, remastered release will include a bonus disc of 13 songs from his 2003 performance at Gothenburg Concert Hall in Gothenburg, Sweden. The reissue will be available digitally, and on double clear vinyl, starting October 27 (via Mute). González has also announced a string of live dates, and shared an archival video of his Gothenburg Concert Hall show. Check those out below.

The Veneer reissue will feature a hand-numbered gatefold and a 24-page booklet filled with archival photos, essays, a song-by-song guide from González, and more. For his upcoming live shows, González will first play a handful of sets in November that also include a conversation with Mikel Cee Karlsson, who directed a film about the musician titled A Tiger in Paradise. Next spring, González will play seven North American shows, where he will perform Veneer in full.

Veneer Remastered:

01 Slow Moves
02 Remain
03 Lovestain
04 Heartbeats
05 Crosses
06 Deadweight on Velveteen
07 All You Deliver
08 Stay in the Shade
09 Hints
10 Save Your Day
11 Broken Arrows

Live In Gothenburg 2003:

01 Deadweight on Velveteen
02 Save Your Day
03 Storm
04 Crosses
05 Hints
06 Suggestions
07 Heartbeats
08 Love Will Tear Us Apart
09 All You Deliver
10 Stay in the Shade
11 Remain
12 Hand on Your Heart
13 Cello Song

By Sandra Winters

Writer | Author | Wordsmith Passionate about crafting stories that captivate and inspire. Published author of [Book Title]. Dedicated to exploring the depths of human emotions and experiences through the power of words. Join me on this literary journey as we delve into the realms of imagination and uncover the beauty of storytelling.